Different Types Of Immunity And Their Examples


Types Of Immunity

3 different types of immunity are :

  • Inmate
  • Acquired
  • Passive

Inmate immunity

  • Inmate is a a type of immunity which is non-specific in which a human being receives from its birth.
  • It is basically a barrier which our body provides against harmful substances or foreign agents.
  • It can be further classified as Physical barrier, Physiological barrier, Cellular barrier, Cytokinin barrier.

Physical barriers include skin, Mucus covering of the stomach and various other covering which our body produces on the Gastrointestinal tract and urogenital tract.

Physiological barriers include tears, saliva etc.

Cytokinin barrier is special barrier which is proteinaceous in nature secreted by virus infected cells known as interferons which helps in protecting non infected cells from the further viral infections

Acquired Immunity

  • It is a type of immunity which is pathogen specific protection and it is based on memory.
  • In this our body in response to the infections generates antibodies and in the subsequent encounter our body releases those same antibodies which it has prepared during the first time.
  • This is basically mediated by B & N lymphocytes which helps in creating special types of antibodies.
  • Here b Lymphocytes produces an army of protein in response to pathogens produced in our body. These proteins are antibodies. There are different types of antibodies in our body like IgA, IgG, IgM, IgE, IgD.
  • It can be divided as active and passive immunity.

Passive Immunity

It is a type of immunity which is a form of short lived. It is developed by injecting readymade antibodies collected from animals or from labs. Anti tetanus serum provides temporary guard from tetanus. Vaccine is a sample of antigen which helps the body to protect itself from diseases.


It is a defense process which humans generate in order to fight against diseases and protect from harmful substances from that disease. There are 3 types of Immunity : Inmate, Acquired and Passive. Inmate protection is acquired by humans since birth, it includes Physical Barriers such as Mucus, Physiological Barrier such as Tears and Cytokinin Barrier that helps in preventing further viral infections in non-infected cells. Acquired is based on memory which is mediated by B & N lymphocytes which helps in creating special types of antibodies and it is further divided into 2 parts Active and Passive.

Also Read : What Is GURTs In GM Crops, And Its Categories ?


What is a simple definition of immunity?

It is a system in which a defense mechanism, protecting against disease and also fighting against the infectious disease.

What is immunity and its type?

It is a system of defence which protect human body against the disease and prevent from causing illness. Three types of immunity are : Inmate, Acquired and Passive.

What is immunity class 9?

Protection of the body against disease causing organisms.

What are the 5 antibodies?

5 types of antibodies in human bodies like IgA, IgG, IgM, IgE, IgD.

Scroll to Top